dormer roof cut?

All questions relating to any aspect of 3D modelling with revit should be posted here

dormer roof cut?

Postby Johan » Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:20 pm

I drew/modelled two gable ended pitched roof dormers onto a sloped roof and attached each to the roof. I then added a flat roof section to join the two dormer roofs together, the flat roof section joined to the dormer roofs and the roof the dormers sit onto.

I am trying to cut through the main roof the dormers and flat roof sit on but no matter how I try the cut prompts Revit to reject my efforts and tell me it cannot keep roofs etc. joined.

Also due to the shape of the roofs collectively I cannot think of a way to create the roof sets as one.

Any ideas?
Johan

Re: dormer roof cut?

Postby Revit Zone » Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:03 pm

Hi Johan, and welcome :)

Any chance you can post a screen shot of your roofs so we can see how to best tackle it?

Cheers,
Ian
The Complete Beginner’s Guide to Autodesk Revit Architecture (FREE 84 part online video Course)
A complete 84 part written / video Course, aimed at Beginners. For the course itinerary and details of how to enrol, click the title link above.
Revit Zone
Site Admin

Postby Johan » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:20 pm

A copy of the rear view 3D As i say when i try to make the cut into the roof structure for the whole dormer Revit will not keep roof joins so they detatch. Thanks for keeping me in mind
Attachments
N Av roof dormers joined with flat roof.pdf
(353.39 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Johan

Postby Revit Zone » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:12 pm

Do your two dormers actually meet- ie do the eaves that are adjacent to each other actually touch?

Or is there a slight gap between them?

Cheers,
Ian
The Complete Beginner’s Guide to Autodesk Revit Architecture (FREE 84 part online video Course)
A complete 84 part written / video Course, aimed at Beginners. For the course itinerary and details of how to enrol, click the title link above.
Revit Zone
Site Admin