Revit rocks and makes my life easier

Whether you are new to Revit or an Old Hand, this is the place to introduce yourself and say Hi to fellow members.

Revit rocks and makes my life easier

Postby Conman » Wed May 11, 2011 5:12 pm

Hi everyone, i'm a tutor at Shrewsbury college and have been teaching Revit to my BTEC students since 2008 which almost all of them absolutely love. Sadly, I just cannot get enough screen time to improve my skills much beyond 'advanced beginner' so seeing what you professionals are producing on this site makes me very jealous and does inspire me to try and do a bit more.

Great site here, I know Cadline have set up a similar resource to this, I think there is space for two UK based Revit resources.

anyways, time to go and do some more marking now....keep up the fantastic work everybody.
Conman

Re: Revit rocks and makes my life easier

Postby James » Wed May 11, 2011 6:21 pm

hi and welcome,

how do you find teaching revit?
Plowman Craven aim to be at the forefront of technology, especially within the BIM environment.
James
Regular

Postby Conman » Thu May 12, 2011 12:59 pm

It was a step change after teaching Autocad to construciton students.
The syllabus required the construciton students initially just to use CAD in any form so I started getting students to use a very simple kitchen design piece of software that a mnufacturer made avaialble over the internet (I cannot remeber what that was now though). The syllabus changed in 2003 and introuduced autocad specific terminology like paperspace, blocks etc so that forced me to get into AutoCAd. No problems teaching it for basic 2D engineering drawings at large scale but plotting and printing at construciton scales caused most problems for everybody. And if a student wanted a distinction grade they had to produce 3D content!! Not very nice at all. Time given from never having used CAD to the ablity to produce 3D professional content was 32 hours - nobody got close.